5 reasons to get excited for 2023

2023 looks like an exciting season in the Craftsman Truck Series, here are five reasons to watch the series this year.

North Wilkesboro, Milwaukee Mile, old teams with new manufacturers, and rookies looking to make big splashes this season, 2023 is shaping up to be an exciting season in the Craftsman Truck Series, and here are a few reasons to keep an eye on the series.

1 – North Wilkesboro Highway

The biggest announcement of 2022 was the return of NASCAR to North Wilkesboro Speedway. The hottest tickets for 2023 will feature Cup Series All-Star Race racing, with Truck Series and Late Model cars racing the Saturday before. The CARS Speedway raced in August and the stands are sold out, so tickets for All-Star Weekend are going fast. The Truck Series last competed in Wilkesboro in 1996. Hall of Famer Mark Martin Win this race. Other famous names that have raced there for the series include Kenny Wallace, Mike Skinner, Darrell Waltrip, And Robby Gordon.

With the excitement of the weekend, I think we will see a record number of trucks attempting to qualify for this race. A mix of veterans and Cup Series drivers looking to pick up practice for the big Sunday show and late model racers looking to make their series debut. Not many current regulars have raced this track, so qualifying itself must be a show. Green Flag at 8:00 PM on May 20th.

2 – Back to the Milwaukee Mile

Located at the Wisconsin State Fairgrounds, the Milwaukee Mile is a one-mile course with a 9.25-degree banking. First opened as a dirt track, the mile was paved in 1954. It has hosted NASCAR and IndyCar names, such as Mario AndrettiAnd Nigel MansellAnd Dale Earnhardt Jr., And Jeff Gordon I raced down this historic highway. The track hosted Trucks and Xfinity races until 2009 when NASCAR announced that it would not be returning.

New tracks always promote exciting races. only one driver, Matt CraftonHe raced a truck in Milwaukee, driving in his last race in 2007. With a new track, along with a limited training schedule, an exciting race is guaranteed.

3 – Will Kyle Busch and KBM continue to win with Chevrolet?

With Kyle Bush Leaving Toyota and a new home in Chevrolet, one of the biggest questions is will Kyle Busch Motorsport remain a dominant force in the truck series? Home to seven Truck Series championships, the move to Chevrolet restructured the organization. New crew chiefs for both trucks, Brian Batty in the No. 51 and Jimmy Villeneuve in the No. 4. New faces in both trucks Chase Purdy And Jack Wood. This change may hinder KBM’s winning ways. But lest we forget where Kyle Busch leads in 2023.

Richard Childress knows how to run a winning truck team. RCR and Mike Skinner He won his first ever truck race, Phoenix 1995, and won the title that year. Childress’ grandson Austin Dillon captured the organization’s second truck title in 2011. RCR has won a total of 31 races with its truck teams, and while it’s nowhere near KBM’s total, they have a pedigree. With the resources of RCR and the talent of Kyle Busch, I can say with confidence that he has an excellent chance of winning his new Chevy Silverado.

4 – Will Raja Karuth win his first race?

Raja Karuth He will move from ARCA to the Truck Series with GMS Racing in 2023. Carruth finished the season 11th best start at Gateway in the No. 7 Spire Motorsport truck. He was tapped to drive the No. 24 Silverado, the same team that Zane Smith finished runner-up in the championship, for two years. two years in a row.

Carruth finished third in the ARCA Championship, and on his first trip to Martinsville in the Xfinity car, he finished twelfth. The Raga and the GMS No. 24 team could be competitive in 2023. It’s expected to be a win-win and I’m looking forward to watching it in 2023.

5 – Hailie Deegan moves to Thorsport while Thorsport returns to Ford

Hailie Deegan was out of the game when David Gilliland Racing a.d Rebranding to TRICON Garage. Now that she’s signed to Ford and her team has moved to Toyota in 2023, many have suggested she’ll be riding Xfinity in 2023. In a move announced on her YouTube channel, she confirmed her plans for 2023. Thorsport will return to racing F150s and will drive the No. 13 for the team.

Deegan had the most competitive ride of her Truck career. Thorsport scored three wins in 2022 and had two drivers in the Championship race. With experience for 2021 champion Ben Rhodes, veteran champion Matt Crafton, and burgeoning talent in Ty Majeski, she will have excellent teammates. Thorsport, in switching back to Ford, doesn’t seem to skip anything. This is their best chance and we need to see a playoff and maybe a win or two. I think everything is in place to make 2023 her best season yet.

The Craftsman Truck Series returns to racing on February 17 with the NextEra Energy 200. Join FS1 at 7:30 p.m.

Featured photo credit: Kyle Rivas/Getty Images

Leave a Comment